Wyoming Board of Examiners in Optometry
(also called STATUTE)
Practice Act, Wyoming Statutes 33-23-101 through -117
TYPES OF RULEMAKING
To expand on the authority given by the legislature in the Board's Practice Act, the Board may promulgate the following rule types: Emergency, Proposed, or Filed.
Emergency rules, once approved, are valid for 120 days. Proposed rules, once approved, are posted for a 45 day public comment period. Filed rules, once approved, have gone through the public comment period and are the current rules in effect for the Board and licensees.
FILED RULES AND REGULATIONS(effective April 9, 2018)
Promulgated by authority under the Board of Examiners in Optometry Practice Act W.S. 33-23-101 through W.S. 33-23-117.
The complete version of the Rules filed April 9, 2018. These are formatted for two-sided printing.
Rules by Chapter:
Chapter 1 - General Provisions
Chapter 2 - Requirements for Licensure
Chapter 3 - Renewal and Relicensure
Chapter 4 - Fees
Chapter 5 - Standards of Practice
Chapter 6 - Repealed 2018
Chapter 7 - Process and Procedure for Application, Licensure, and Discipline Matters
Chapter 8 - Repealed 2018
Appendix A - Repealed 2018
As referenced in Chapter 1, you can find the following incorporated materials:
Chapter 2 - Uniform Procedures, Fees, Costs, and Charges for Inspection, Copying, and Producing Public Records, adopted by the Department of Administration and Information and effective on September 6, 2016
The Board's Rules and Practice Act have been listed above for your ease and convenience. To obtain these materials directly from their source:
You can find the Rules on the Secretary of State's website at: https://rules.wyo.gov/. Click "Current Rules" and scroll down for "Optometry, Board of Examiners in (056)".
You can find the Practice Act (aka Statute) on the Wyoming Legislature's website at: http://legisweb.state.wy.us/LSOWEB/wyStatutes.aspx. You will be searching for Title 33, Chapter 23 for the Board of Examiners in Optometry.
The Board may clarify a requirement in the Rule or Statute by drafting an advisory. Licensees are expected to be familiar with, and adhere to, any drafted advisories.
Advisory regarding fitting contact lenses (Mailed to all licensees on 8/24/15)